Skip to content


Aegean Islands

The ultimate destination

The Aegean islands are, to a large extent, the strong tourist destinations of our country, especially in the summer months. They are all, real ornaments of the Archipelago, as it is called the Aegean Sea, each with its own distinct beauty. They consist of the island complexes of the North-East Aegean, the Cyclades and the Dodecanese. The largest city in the Aegean islands is Rhodes, which is also the capital of the Dodecanese. In the large and very popular Aegean islands, thousands of visitors flock every year, both from Greece and from abroad.

The Aegean Islands - At a Glance

The organized, crowded beaches and endless fun, characterize many of the popular destinations. There are, of course, small terrestrial paradises that are still far from mass tourism and are a challenge for those who choose a quiet holiday. Characteristic of all the Aegean islands is the crystal clear sea, the beautiful and unique beaches and the idyllic scenery. Religious monuments, archaeological sites, towers and famous castles on many Aegean islands are of great interest. The Aegean islands, with excellent infrastructure, covering the modern concept of tourism, have consistently held an important place on the Greek tourist map.


The Cyclades is a complex of islands in the Aegean Sea. The capital is the city of Ermoupolis, which is also the capital of the island of Syros. They have always been a popular destination, but especially in recent decades, the islands become a pole of attraction for hundreds of thousands of visitors from both Greece and abroad…


The Dodecanese is a complex of Aegean islands and is located on the southeastern edge of the country, near the coast of Asia Minor. The largest island is Rhodes, while the city of Rhodes is the capital of the prefecture. Other major islands include Kos, Kalymnos, Patmos, Karpathos, Kasos, Astypalea, Leros, Symi, Nisyros, Tilos and Kastelorizo…

Prefecture of Samos

Samos Region belongs to the Aegean Islands (today’s Region of North Aegean) and consists of the islands of Samos and Ikaria as well as the island complex of Fourni. The largest island is Samos, while the homonymous city is the seat of the prefecture…


The prefecture of Chios consists of the island of Chios and the Oinousse. Chios is an island of the eastern Aegean Sea and the fifth largest of the country, while it is very close to the coast of Asia Minor. Its territory is mostly mountainous and only to the south and east there are lowlands. The existence of the island is lost in the depths of the centuries, as there are findings from the prehistoric times, the Neolithic age and the copper age…


The Prefecture of Lesvos (currently the regional unit of Lesvos) consists of the islands of Lesvos, Lemnos and Agios Efstratios. Lesvos is the largest island in the prefecture and is the third largest island in the country after Crete and Euboea, and is one of the largest in the Mediterranean. It is located in the northeastern Aegean Sea, quite close to the coasts of Turkey and across from Ayvalık…